Blog – Being a Dad of Twins – Diary 041

Blog number forty-one. (Smiley Month :D)

Just a quick play before we left.

Suddenly, they feel all grown up!

June!! Summer is here, kind of. The weather in UK hasn’t been stable for the past couple of years. It doesn’t seem to have the typical English weather that I first experienced it some twenty years ago, when I first moved here. There’s no April shower, London fog has disappeared, no more freezes in the winter (ok, there’re occasional morning frosts) but definitely no snow (a few drops doesn’t count). So, June is here but I don’t feel summer because there wasn’t any warmth. We still pretty much have to weather long sleeves most of the month.

I thought they were lovely to do this, a precious moment.

I thought they were lovely to do this, a precious moment.

When we went to Hong Kong in April, we picked up some clothes for the twins. Just one of those things that kids go through when they are young. They would have their favourite things to wear. Annabelle, for instance, loves her Frozen dress and tops.  Ashton loves his Doraemon short jeans and Gudetama tops from Hong Kong. Really, they literally want to wear them everyday! Especially Ashton.

Cheeky smiles

Cheeky smiles

So why did I call this month a smiley month? Well, you will see in the photo section below later. Ashton loved to smile in front of the camera and just like Annabelle a few months back, he would give me a rather funny yet unnatural smiles. They were funny to watch together though as you can see later. Annabelle, continuing from her last month’s practice, gave me the rather cutest poses whenever I asked for a photo.

More exaggerated version.

More exaggerated version.

We went to Wrest Park  together with Uncle Henry. We as a family loved this place. It had a magnificent garden and the main building itself was magical. We had a little picnic there and then walked around the gigantic rear garden. At their age, all they really like is to run around. This was exactly what Annabelle and Ashton did, as soon as they saw the vast space. The funny thing was that soon Annabelle learnt that she could get tired very quickly. Ashton, however, continued to run, even though he was exhausted. Was it really a boy and girl thing? Boys just do not know when to draw the line. Annabelle just asked me to hold her for the remaining day! haha.

Running starts

Running starts

Ashton also got very fascinated with our new blue selfie stick that we got from Hong Kong and kept asking to hold it throughout the day. We did try not to give him worrying that he could damage it but we eventually gave in and let him held it for a while.

Ashton seems to enjoy the sense of space.

Ashton seems to enjoy the sense of space.

Back to London, Ashton and Annabelle spent some time with their cousins on a few occasions, at Aunty Emma’s and Granny’s place. They just loved playing with them. Now that our family have two pairs of twins, it suddenly feel much bigger already.

Fly Fly I can fly!

Fly Fly I can fly!

And this month I was introduced to a funny app SNOW where you can swap faces or to put digitised masks on faces. Ashton and Annabelle totally loved it. We had some fun together too but when we did face-swap, it was quite scary 🙂

This is scary!

This is scary!

Now in their second month at the new nursery, Ashton and Annabelle finally got used to the teachers. I could just leave them there much quicker than before. And the cute thing was that they still loved to hold hands on the way to school and back home.

Holding hands back home.

Holding hands back home.

Kids are growing really quickly and Ashton and Annabelle are now toddlers and there are times that I look back at some of the earlier photos I took of them when they were really babies. I suddenly feel old. But it’s a joy to watch them learn and grow for sure but at the same time, I miss the baby times together.

Bye bye, until next time!

Bye bye, until next time!

I really appreciate my time spent on writing these blogs as they remind me of this magical journey. There are more, and way more to come. I hope to continue writing them for the foreseeable future and one day my twins will read them!

x

Next month, more places to cover, still holding hands, Ashton becoming a good boy and I got more work!

 

 

Thank you for reading my blog and please support my work and this site by buying stuff from Amazon via the link at the bottom (only if you need to buy stuff of course). 

amazon-uk

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II Camera Body – Silver

Panasonic H-X025E LEICA DG SUMMILUX 25mm Digital Interchangeable Lens

 

Leave a Reply

