Blog – Being a Dad of Twins – Diary 039

Arrived at HK Disney!!

Arrived at HK Disney!!

Blog number thirty nine.

April time, big time!! Why? We are off to Hong Kong for a couple of weeks! This is the second time my double A’s traveling to my home town but there’s a whole load of differences this time round. First, they are much older than last time when they could barely walk and speak. Now, they are running around, screaming and doing our headings 🙂

Oh yes, they loved those mini watermelons.

Oh yes, they loved those mini watermelons.

So it’s been nearly over a year since we last visited Grandpa and Aunty Kitty. Not that my twins would remember anything of them but it’s always nice for my dad and aunt to see them as we don’t go back often. Anyway, traveling with young children is always challenging. Especially when they are in between baby stage and more independent children, we have to pack absolutely tons of spare clothes, nappies (yes, Ashton still isn’t toilet trained!! More on that later) and toys to keep them entertained. Well when I think of that, it’s probably remain challenging for the foreseeable future, even when they are more grown up hhaha.

The night firework was definitely something that excited Ashton!

The night firework was definitely something that excited Ashton!

So one and a half of suitcases are just for their ‘stuff’ and the remaining one and a half was for my wife and I with a little room to spare for some souvenirs. Before we had kids, going away (anywhere) seems fun and exciting. Now it’s more like ‘exhausting’ than anything else. It’s still fun, don’t get me wrong, but it’s very different to what a childless couple would experience. There are no more lying around in bed, taking time to stroll around and enjoy your destinations, eat wherever and whenever… Well you get the picture. No, you can’t do that with kids around you!!! But even so, when you see them laughing and enjoying themselves, it seems all your hard work pays off, with bonus.

They absolutely loved the Kowloon Park.

They absolutely loved the Kowloon Park.

I was so happy to see my dad and it was almost too emotional to see my kids playing with him too. Now that Ashton and Annbelle were old enough to remember things and it almost brought tears to my eyes when I heard them talking about grandpa all the times. But the first few days were horrible as I caught some kind of bugs on the way to Hong Kong and I was literally bed-bound for the first three to four days. Worst still, I didn’t have my full appetite until a week after arrival!! Can you believe that??? I could have eaten a lot more stuffs, street stuff that I love and miss so much when I was in London. This was just a torture!!!

She loved walking with grandpa a lot.

She loved walking with grandpa a lot.

Apart from my illness, everything was cool. I was still ‘able’ to walk around after two days so we met up with grandpa at Kowloon Park near Tsim Sha Tsu. Ashton and Annabelle felt a little strange at first when they saw grandpa. But there’s something about them seeing older people, they somehow got warmed up much quicker than younger people. So they were happy to play with my dad after only a few minutes, they even followed him and let him held their hands! We had a good day together at the park and when they were tired, both slept in the buggy while we were pushing them in a nearby shopping centre.

That giant lake fish really got their attention!

That giant lake fish really got their attention!

Although it was a family holiday, I managed to get myself booked for a couple of photography workshops and met a couple of clients who would be coming to UK for my Love Journey photoshoot. So we did most of the family stuff in the first week where we went literally everywhere. We took the twins to Ocean Park to see the Pandas with Grandpa and to Hong Kong Disney with Grandma. Ashton and Annabelle absolutely loved visiting themed parks, thought they didn’t manage to get on many rides but they loved the atmosphere and space (for running around).

Ashton thought he was a Power Ranger!

Ashton thought he was a Power Ranger!

But two weeks went pass very quickly. As my wedding season started and I couldn’t spare any more time and had to get back to London for my wedding bookings. We absolutely loved the time there and I always had that holiday blue after it finished but at the same time I am quick excited for this year’s weddings too! Man, that’s going be fun.

Annabelle was trying to blow the paper windmill.

Annabelle was trying to blow the paper windmill.

Back in London, I felt kind of weird because suddenly it just felt like that we were entering a new chapter. My wedding season started and Ashton and Annabelle started their new nursery. They were also staying back home full time since they no longer needed Sue’s parents care for half of the week. Well, I needed to adapt to the new lifestyle as I needed to get them ready for nursery for Monday and Wednesday while Sue went to work. But since they were new to this school, their key worker suggested that they should only be staying for a hour to two until they got used to the nursery, while I must be present at the same time. Ok, that’s a tough call as it meant that I wouldn’t be able to work, practically, as you could imagine looking after twins would be a full time job. Hence I always admired my wife and her mom for looking after them. The only trouble I faced was that as my wedding season started, I needed time to work. And as a professional photographer, you are also a businessman. Running a business requires more than just the 9 to 5 schedules. I knew that it would be challenging for the next couple of weeks.

First day out, meeting grandpa in Hong Kong.

First day out, meeting grandpa in Hong Kong.

But then… that couple of weeks turned into a month! In order to meet my deadlines and all the work that I had on hand, I worked late at nights, and tried to put in as many hours as I could find. But then weekends were usually dominated by weddings and photoshoots so it was just getting out of hand… I hope, the situation gets better soon. But as parents and having twins, we just had to make do with what we got at times.

Next month, twins going full time nursery, I got better working hours, but still struggled.

Thank you for reading my blog and please support my work and this site by buying stuff from Amazon via the link at the bottom (only if you need to buy stuff of course). 

amazon-uk

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II Camera Body – Silver

Panasonic H-X025E LEICA DG SUMMILUX 25mm Digital Interchangeable Lens

 

Leave a Reply

