Blog – Being a Dad of Twins – Diary 032

Running around!

Running around!

Blog 32.

Finally August and summer was truly here in London. We had brilliant sun and warm temperature. No more that I could ever ask. Yet, this month I had big problems. Well, not that I was out of work or anything serious like that but in fact it’s the opposite. I had too much work and it meant that I had only limited time with my kids.

Annabelle was fascinated by all the big statues.

Annabelle was fascinated by all the big statues.

But the worst was that Annabelle started her chicken pox when Ashton’s was on its way out.

Oh dear. So when I thought Ashton’s chicken pox was bad, Annabelle’s was ten times worst. By comparison, Ashton had it easy though he scratched himself almost too much and he had scaps all over his body. It would heal I was sure of that. Annabelle was really bad, so bad that her spots were really big and deep. That could only mean one thing, scars.

Still covered in spots... horrible.

Still covered in spots… horrible.

But before I could think of scars, we had to endure her suffering which was horrible to watch. She had spots covering almost the entire body and it was itchy and painful at the same time. She didn’t want to go toilet nor to have a wash. It was too painful but we had to clean her with Chinese herbs then further soothed her with creams. But she absolutely cried herself out every night when we clean her. Ashton wasn’t too bad when he had it a few weeks back. He didn’t like to wash but he didn’t resisted either, perhaps his spots were as big or painful as his sister. Poor Annabelle.

Recovering from Chicken Pox, first day out since contracting it.

Recovering from Chicken Pox, first day out since contracting it.

And yes, she couldn’t sleep either. The warm summer weather didn’t help a bit because it would make her sweat and even more painful and itchy. So we use baby powder to dry her skin a bit more and I had to sleep with her on ground floor (the coolest room) for a couple of nights and watched Finding Nemo and Frozen with her many times. She slept a couple of hours at a time because of her itchiness. I also couldn’t sleep but I had weddings and other shoots to cover so my wife had put in extra effort in looking after them. I really thanked my wife for being here with us.

.. and of course running around!

.. and of course running around!

The whole episode lasted about two weeks in August but that was enough to completely exhausted both Sue and I. When Annabelle finally got over the spots and all of them had scapped and started to fall off, she was back to her old self, which was a total relief to see indeed. We also left the house and got out for a bit. It’s been a whole month since Ashton’s first spot appearance, so the kids were dying to get out! We first went to Granny’s house and let them run around the local park for a bit. They absolutely loved it. It seemed like they’d been locked up for months!! That was an amusing scene when we saw how happy they were running around.

A quick photo with mummy!

A quick photo with mummy!

Then we went to yet another English Heritage site, Wrest Park. It’s another amazing place with beautiful mansion and gardens. A lovely place to spend some time with your family, especially when the sun was shining. But that was it for August, a relatively quiet month for our twins and a rather exhausting month for Sue and I. Sue had put on an extra hat to help me while I was going through my busiest month of the year.  I love you hun!

The beautiful Wrest Park.

The beautiful Wrest Park.

Scars… however, was another issue. As her spots were very big, Annabelle also suffered from a few deep scars. While there was nothing we could do, all we ever hoped was the scar fade in months or years to come. Both my wife and I felt a little sad to see her perfectly smooth skin became a little bumpy in places.

Lastly, Ashton also started his first swimming lesson. Annabelle would have joined but as she was still recovering from Chicken pox, we gave it a miss.

First swimming lesson.

First swimming lesson.

Next month, Ashton’s screaming. Annabelle’s babble, ice cream, and more!

More snaps here for your pleasure 🙂

Thank you for reading my blog and please support my work and this site by buying stuff from Amazon via the link at the bottom (only if you need to buy stuff of course). 

amazon-uk

If you wonder what ‘tools’ I used to captures all my photos, here’s a list of them.

Canon EOS M Compact System Camera – White (22mm Lens with Adapter Kit, 18MP) 3 inch LCD

iPhone 4S, iPhone 5

Leave a Reply

