Blog – Being a Dad of Twins – Diary 028

Blog number 28, twenty eight… a very good number in Chinese indeed.

Cheeky :)

Cheeky 🙂

Time has flown so fast that I barely remember what date it is if anyone asks me today. I am disoriented, confused and tired. Well, all of these are the by products of sleep deprivation from my sleepless twins. My wife and I take turn to look after them every week. Like Sunday to Tuesday, my twins will go back to the in-laws when my wife goes to work part-time (a very nice good break from the twins routine) and I will have two and a half full time working time. Not that I don’t work for the rest of the week but I wouldn’t get much sleep because I tend to get up and look after my two little ones at nights and early mornings from Wednesday to Sunday morning.

Cheeky number 2!

Cheeky number 2!

Things have improved over the past two and a half years but still my twins are light sleepers and sometimes they just get up in the middle of the night and need some attentions to put them back to their dreamy land. I am or I should say that we are bragging for the day that they both sleep really well through the night.

They both now very engaging and need a lot of attention (and energy!)

They both now very engaging and need a lot of attention (and energy!)

To put more pressure to our family life, Ashton and Annabelle are now two. Like I said in my previous blog, they are in the ‘trouble-two’ stage. Ashton is screaming and throwing temper all the time and Annabelle just wouldn’t listen to you when it comes to eating proper food (oh yes, both loves snacks which we are trying our best not to give them!).

Both loved playing with daddy. This time, Annabelle really shows!

Both loved playing with daddy. This time, Annabelle really shows!

Also, being at this age means that they really want your attentions. In another word, sticky. Sometimes Annabelle would play by herself in the corner but Ashton is as sticky as ever. More so being a trouble-two. I know that it’s a stage that every parent goes through at some points but hey, twins are more than double the work and it also means that sometimes even going to toilet could be a problem! When Sue comes back home and I am working, she has to look after them during the day. I sometimes goes back to my office or out meeting customers but when I am at home, I could never have 100% concentration with the twins screaming downstairs.

Ventured out to our local park.

Ventured out to our local park.

But I am putting it into perspective and now that we are so used to this new ‘routine’ and it’s starting to get better. Now we just know that they scream a lot and it has becomes part of our lives.

So we go on.

A short day out to Hamsptead Heath park

A short day out to Hamsptead Heath park

I did miss an event last month when we attended a friend’s son’s birthday party. It’s was a rather cool one since the venue was a rare model train park. We all got to sit on these miniature (downsized fully working) stream and electrical trains! It was rather fun and Ashton was totally hooked! It ended up going on it five times!!

Miniature Trains, OM-D, E-M5 II, Jimmy Cheng Photography

Ashton loves these miniature trains and kept asking to go back!

Then this month, we are rather low-key. We paid a visit to a local circus. In fact, it’s my first circus in London and possibly my first time in many many years since these little circus groups have been diminishing and slowly disappearing. With people’s life turing more ‘online’ and traveling, many don’t find circus interesting anymore. But after seeing one, I can say that it’s definitely refreshing. Yes, they use old tricks and things that they have deciphered on TV many years ago, I just loved being there with the atmosphere , anticipation and music. I also liked the way they engaged the audience too. So, it’s little money but we had a very lovely afternoon indeed. Umm.. the heavy rain after it finished didn’t impress us though.

Here we go!

Here we go!

Some acts were very exciting and rather dangerous (especially when without safety net!)

Some acts were very exciting and rather dangerous (especially when without safety net!)

Our afternoon was well entertained!

Our afternoon was well entertained!

Then we went to the magnificent Hever Castle! This is a place for both adults and children. It’s a little dear for the entry pass but I totally loved it. Not only it has some of the most amazing views I’ve seen in UK but anyone and any-age will be happy to spend a day there! Kids will love it because there are plenty to keep them entertained. Though these facilities may not be suitable for young little ones like my twins yet but for some older kids (three years old onwards), there is a very large adventure park, a grass-maze, a water-maze and plenty of empty space for them to run around and play balls or hide-and-seek. For adults, the castle was a must-see attraction and the European garden was something worth drooling for. The best, for me at least, would be that magnificent view of the lake together with the Italian inspired stoneworks and decorations. Man, it was like a dream.

What a view this is. I will never get tired of it!

What a view this is. I will never get tired of it!

The Italian garden was something else! Beautiful!

The Italian garden was something else! Beautiful!

Annabelle was like a little explorer and enjoyed walking around looking for stuff to play. Ashton, the usual active one, did the exact opposite. He rather sat in his buggy and didn’t bother about walking at all! ahaha… sometimes they just lost me!

Ashton just wouldn't walk while Annabelle was wondering around!

Ashton just wouldn’t walk while Annabelle was wondering around!

So here we go, our lovely April! Spring is passing and Summer is arriving…

More snaps here for your pleasure 🙂

Thank you for reading my blog and please support my work and this site by buying stuff from Amazon via the link at the bottom (only if you need to buy stuff of course). 

amazon-uk

If you wonder what ‘tools’ I used to captures all my photos, here’s a list of them.

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II Camera Body – Silver

Olympus OM-D E-M5

Olympus M Zuiko 12mm f/2

Panasonic H-X025E LEICA DG SUMMILUX 25mm Digital Interchangeable Lens

iPhone 4S, iPhone 5

Leave a Reply

