Blog – Being a Dad of Twins – Diary 022

Father of twin blog, London Leica Photographer, London OM-D Photographer

I am the superhero!!

October, what a month to remember, for both the good and bad…

This month marked my 40th birthday so I am now officially a ‘middle-age’ man, though I don’t really feel it despite my ‘growing’ belly! So it’s definitely a month to remember after my wife booked me a wonderful trip to Italy as my present. It’s been a couple of years since we had any proper time off (I mean off as parents). Only parents with twins or more would understand just how stressful and tiring it could be. Of course, we loved our babies more than anything else in the world but a little time off would definitely be beneficial for everyone. So before I talked about the bad stuff, I wanted to talk about the happy stuff first.

Father of twin blog, London Leica Photographer, London OM-D Photographer

Ashton and Annabelle in adventure park in Stratford

For my Italy trip, you can read my travel blog HERE 🙂

While we were away, Ashton and Annabelle were staying with their Aunty Lin in Northampton. We tried to Skype them everyday and talked to them via the video call but since most of our location had bad internet connection, it was never easy. Though it was better than nothing at all and especially so when it’s free!

Father of twin blog, London Leica Photographer, London OM-D Photographer

Ashton was learning how to ‘fish’ ducks!

Having missed them for almost 10 days, now Ashton became very attached to Susan and he wouldn’t let her got out of his sight for any moment and started crying even when Sue just disappeared for a second. Not something that we would encourage but there’s nothing we could do. Annabelle suddenly became more independent yet she loved to be close to me at times, just not as clingy as Ashton to his mom.

Father of twin blog, London Leica Photographer, London OM-D Photographer

Like father, like son!

We were so happy to see all kinds of baby developments this month. From movement to gesture to verbal communications, both were learning much during this past month. Annabelle started to compose sentences with singular words and replied when asked a question. Just as usual, Ashton would just do his things and said whatever he wanted to whenever he wanted to. It’s certainly fun to watch however. Have we sensed any kind of misbehave coming soon? Certainly and as they are approach the ‘trouble-two’ stage, we are not so looking forward to all the fuzz but hey, this is what every single parent will go through so what the heck, just face it and get on!

Father of twin blog, London Leica Photographer, London OM-D Photographer

Like mommy, like daughter!

Yet we saw progress this month, a real progress which kind of made us feel that they were growing up, fast! Part of me also remembered and treasured the days when they were tiny. Even though that they were still small and technically a baby still but to my wife and I, they both had come a long way since the incubator-days. A feeling that not many of friends or normal parents with full-term pregnancy would understand either.

We are happy, tired but happy indeed.

Father of twin blog, London Leica Photographer, London OM-D Photographer

Party time! Let’s dress smart!

Then this month is also the Halloween month. Not that Ashton nor Annabelle understood anything about trick or treat but we carved a pumpkin and also did a little bit of fireworks to celebrate the occasion. I also bought a couple of small outfits for them so they could dress up for Halloween too!

Father of twin blog, London Leica Photographer, London OM-D Photographer

Pumpkin time!

Well on the note of being a bad month for us was that our house got burgled while Sue and I was on our second day of our holiday. I lost many valuable items including a lens (yes!! Damn thieve!), a few watches and my car!!!!!!! However, it was fortunate that my computer and my hard drives were all there still and it would be devastating for myself and my clients should they were stolen since I still have a few photos in them. Despite having back ups, many of my ‘latest’ postprocessed versions were in my computer and it would mean that I would have lost weeks worth of work! That wouldn’t be good.

Father of twin blog, London Leica Photographer, London OM-D Photographer

I use the selfie stick! Happy Halloween!

I think this was the single most annoying and setback this year since I spent lots of time dealing with the police and insurance companies. The disruption I had was much more than quantifiable values. I literally stopped working for weeks and since I had no car to use and had to borrow my brother’s car to pick up the kids from the nursery too! All of the sudden, I just feel incomplete and my life was turned upside down.

Worst was to happen but that’s for next month’s blog. My twins got ill, we got ill and everyone got ill!!!

More snaps here for your pleasure 🙂

 

 

 

Thank you for reading my blog and please support my work and this site by buying stuff from Amazon via the link at the bottom (only if you need to buy stuff of course). 

amazon-uk

Maxi Cosi Pearl Car Seat and Family ISO Fix


If you wonder what ‘tools’ I used to captures all my photos, here’s a list of them.

Olympus OM-D E-M5

Olympus M Zuiko 12mm f/2

 

Leica M Type 240

Voigtlander Nokton 35mm 1:1.2 ASPH II

Leica Summilux 50mm 1:1.4 ASPH FLE

iPhone 4S, iPhone 5

Leave a Reply

