Blog – Being a Dad of Twins – Diary 021

We are soaking up the sun dad!

We are soaking up the sun dad!

Summer is finally drawing to an end and what a couple of months we’ve had? Nice sun and warm temperature, perfect for taking the kids out.

We did exactly that for the past couple of months and while the temperature may not be as high as July and August, it’s still warm enough for them to go outside without wearing jackets. Ashton, as usual, loved going anywhere but staying at home. He got so excited whenever he got to sit in the car and he knew that we were going somewhere. Annabelle also loved being out but she never bothered if she had to stay home so long we could be the entertainers!

Both love their morning 'roll around'

Both love their morning ‘roll around’

These past two months really showed their progress in terms of learning. Both now babbled a lot, especially Annabelle who would try to copy everything you said. The real benefit of this was that both Sue and I could finally reason with her. There were times that she wouldn’t listen but most of the time she would do as asked. Ashton, who talked and screamed a lot, just did as and when he wished. His impatient self was also becoming even more apparent and being close to a two-year-0ld, we also saw the becoming of ‘trouble-two’ whenever he threw a temper at us.

Swing swing swing!

Swing swing swing!

 

Because now they are at the nursery once a week and it’s usually Sue who will drop them off and I will pick them up. Both Ashton and Annabelle will cry whenever mom left them at the nursery. It was a really welcoming experience whenever I picked them up and saw them smiling, screaming “Daddy!” while running towards me. I always loved that moment and their smiles and genuine ‘needs’ of daddy was truly shown. You know kids could never hide their feelings so at that moment, my heart just melted!

I am the 'captain'!

I am the ‘captain’!

We went to Greenwich with their grandma and uncle Henry for a Saturday. At the park, we set them loose and mind oh mind, they just ran off! Didn’t they love the feeling of freedom? Both Annabelle and Ashton just ran and ran (or fast walking as they couldn’t quite run yet!). Though I notice that Ashton would never run too far and he often looked back to check if either mom or dad was still in his sight, which was a good thing. Annabelle, on the other hand, just left us and kept walking forward. She didn’t look back and we had to ran after her and caught her! Perhaps that reflected their respective personalities.

"Duck" they screamed!

“Duck” they screamed!

At the end of their ‘run’, we quickly went to the maritime museum for a stroll before heading back home. Ashton loved to be outdoor and as soon as we entered the building, he just showed us his frustration. But that’s all changed when we were in the gift shop. There we found a giant bathing duck. Both really loved playing with it and we ended up bought it, together with a squeezy bus (Asthon loves red buses!) and a bouncy ball (Annabelle loves balls). After their exercise, they were both exhausted. Both fell asleep as soon as we exited the museum.

So tired.

So tired.

September also saw us participated our local festival, The Cally Road Festival. Both Annabelle and Ashton loved it. I guessed that they found the party atmosphere and loud musics very entertaining! This festival had becoming quite a thing and it’s getting bigger every year.

Call Festival!

Call Festival!

This year also sees me turning middle-age, officially, and my wife had organized a trip away (without my kids) for the first time since they arrived in late 2012. That’s next month though and because of this trip, Susan also arranged a separate birthday BBQ with my friends over. It’d been a good few years since my friends showed up in number at my house. I wasn’t sure if it’s an age thing or what but now we all had families and kids, everyone was busy with their own things. So such gathering had becoming a rare sight indeed. But I was very happy to so many of them at once! Obviously Ashton and Annabelle was having a good time with my friends. They wouldn’t let them hold them however. Yet, they seemed to be very exciting with the candles on the birthday cake!

Birthday cake!! Yay!

Birthday cake!! Yay!

What a summer and what a month! I haven’t been able to do what I do without the help of my wife and family so I thank their support and understanding. I am the luckiest guy on world!

40!

40!

Next month, big trip to Italy with just my wife and I. FaceTime our kids and stolen car!

More snaps here for your pleasure 🙂

 

 

Thank you for reading my blog and please support my work and this site by buying stuff from Amazon via the link at the bottom (only if you need to buy stuff of course). 

amazon-uk

Maxi Cosi Pearl Car Seat and Family ISO Fix


If you wonder what ‘tools’ I used to captures all my photos, here’s a list of them.

Olympus OM-D E-M5

Olympus M Zuiko 12mm f/2

 

Leica M Type 240

Voigtlander Nokton 35mm 1:1.2 ASPH II

Leica Summilux 50mm 1:1.4 ASPH FLE

iPhone 4S, iPhone 5

Leave a Reply

