Blog – Being a Dad of Twins – Diary 016

BBQ Time, some rare happy smiling pictures we managed to take.

BBQ Time, some rare happy smiling pictures we managed to take.

Right, it’s late for me. I am very behind with my photographic work, reviews and blogs. The problem is that my twins have been ill since we came back from Asia in March. YES, they’ve been ill on and off for almost seven weeks! Last week, I also contracted some kind of bug and fell ill too for a week too. Being a father or a mother isn’t easy, especially when your babies are ill.

Waiting to go out. "Hurry up mummy and daddy!"

Waiting to go out. “Hurry up mummy and daddy!”

So, just the opposite of my previous blog, this one is rather short. It’s because nothing really happened apart from staying home and trying to recover. I guess this is part of our lives now, as a family. All parents will go through this at some point. This part of growing up and growing old. I remember that my dad used to rub my chest when I had a flu. I am doing the same thing with my kids now. However, the past seven weeks had been very demanding indeed. Because they were yet to talk so their only way of communication was cry, which could be very frustrating. As parents, the worst feeling was to watch your kids suffered. We really wanted to help but we could only do so much, physically and medically. Doctors weren’t going to prescribe much more than just Calpol or Ibuprofen.

Ashton and Annabelle just love bubbles!

Ashton and Annabelle just love bubbles!

We kind of got used to the fact that the doctors weren’t going to do anything unless it’s life threatening. So, we ‘let’ our babies suffered high temperature (38-40), cough, runny and blocked nose. Sounded cruel but we did what we could to sooth them by rubbing baby Vicks and massaging them, held them to sleep…etc. It was epic. We virtually had no sleep for this past seven weeks. This obviously affected daytime work too. I often find myself feeling dreadful in the morning and as a photographer, I couldn’t be any more creative than just processing ‘normal’ photos. Speak of which, I am two weeks behind my photo work.

Brother and sister love playing hide and seek.

Brother and sister love playing hide and seek.

We did go out here and there for a short time just to get some air. It’s almost suffocating with all the demanding parenting work. Not good that when your babies threw up and pooed everywhere. It meant non-stop washing. Umm… When I posted my status of being very tired from all these, one of my ex-colleague replied that they just recovered from the similar thing from his twins. Somehow, it made me feel a little better, “it’s normal… we are not alone, just hang in there!”

Annabelle loves playing with me and she always finds me amusing.

Annabelle loves playing with me and she always finds me amusing.

It does sound horrible though doesn’t it. But this past seven weeks had been the most tiring yet. I just wish this will never come back but I know that being parents, this will never stop. We will continue to look after them even when they are grown up, just like our parents.

Ashton is Spiderboy!

Ashton is Spiderboy!

Yes, I am moaning, badly. But somehow my stress will have to go somewhere 🙂 Even with everything throwing at us at once, life must go on. I shot a wedding with my tired mind but somehow, everything went really well and the pictures turned out very nice indeed. Thanks for listening and look forward to seeing you all in my next blog!

They first session at the nursery!

They first session at the nursery!

PS: April also was the first time Annabelle and Ashton going to the nursery. But since they were ill, it had been difficult and they only had limited time there. So more next month!

Thank you for reading my blog and please support my work and this site by buying stuff from Amazon via the link at the bottom (only if you need to buy stuff of course). 

amazon-uk

Maxi Cosi Pearl Car Seat and Family ISO Fix


If you wonder what ‘tools’ I used to captures all my photos, here’s a list of them.

Olympus OM-D E-M5

Olympus M Zuiko 12mm f/2

 

Leica M Type 240

Voigtlander Nokton 35mm 1:1.2 ASPH II

Leica Summilux 50mm 1:1.4 ASPH FLE

iPhone 4S, iPhone 5

Leave a Reply

